Author Topic: Barrel Length and Flare  (Read 6838 times)

Offline SD Howler

• New Forum Member
    • Dakota Coyte Howler & Coyote Calling
Barrel Length and Flare
« on: September 09, 2008, 09:23:13 AM »
Please forgive me but I am new to the wood turning of the call barrels.  What are your thoughts on barrel length and its affect on the sound produced?

Also the effect of barrel flare or width?  I have been turning my barrels from 2 X 2 and 3 X 3 inch blocks to end up with a wider barrel opening or flare.  With the smaller barrels, I have also used step bits for drilling out the end of the my toneboards and wood barrels:

I noted the testing of step drilling on page 54 of the book "Predator Calls, The First 50 Years"  by Jay Nistetter and Al Lux.  Lew Mossinger did the testing with stepped drilled barrels and noted they produced considerable more decibels (volume).

What are your thoughts?

Steve
rattler51@pie.midco.net

http://sdsnake.com/coyote.htm Dakota Coyote Howler & Coyote Calling

Offline wjskip

• New Forum Member
Re: Barrel Length and Flare
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2008, 10:44:28 AM »
I too am new to turning calls.  I have a bad habit of reserching and testing way too much. (retired engineer)  Both length and diameter will have an effect on your call.  I have seen the biggest difference in this since i started to make strikers for pot calls.  A 1/4" change in diameter will make a significant change in the pitch of the call.  To make matters even more difficult if you change the wood in the shaft on the same strike you can get a BIG difference.  For example i have found that hickory gives a much lower tone than purpleheart. (quickly becoming my favorite)  I think what it all boils down to is  - If you like it, GREAT - If the customer likes it, EVEN BETTER - If it works to call the game intended, IT JUST CAN'T GET ANY BETTER.
Thats my 2 cents worth.
Bill

Offline Al_at_THO Game Calls

• Owner, THO Game Calls Forums & Store
  • Administrator