Author Topic: Trumpet Questions  (Read 10651 times)

Offline ADAM PROUTY

• New Forum Member
Trumpet Questions
« on: March 26, 2011, 01:59:25 PM »
Top of the Morn to ya gents.  Im trying to dissolve some of the mystery these trumpets are causing or about to cause for me.  I bought a 7mm pen mandrel from hut would this be sufficient to use in a trumpet or should I look else where for something else.  I have read the "Dogcatchers" way. I was wondering about some of your own experiences.  I also was wondering is a 1x1 blank turned into a 3/4 in dowel gonna be big enough??  and what length do ya'll make the average trumpet.  Sorry for all the questions Im new to the call making scene and im trying to be a sponge and soak up all your knowledge that your willing to share.  I think this is one of the best and most rewarding hobbies out there!!!  Thanks :2up:

Offline raalston

• New Forum Member
Re: Trumpet Questions
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2011, 04:14:52 PM »
I reccommend a dowel to be around 1 1/4 inch in diameter to begin with. This will give you plenty of material to work with to get the shape that you want. I prefer a trumpet's exhaust end to wind up at around 7/8 to 1 inch in diameter and around 6 1/2 inches long. What a lot of people use for the mouth piece is 1/4 to 5/16" "Delrin". I prefer 5/16" in diameter and it needs to be around 2 1/2 inches long and don't stick it any further than 1 inch into the trumpet. Use a 3/32" size drill bit for the hole in the mouth piece this is in my opinion the best size to use.
If you have any more questions feel free to ask.
Ron
« Last Edit: March 29, 2011, 01:32:08 PM by raalston »

Offline ADAM PROUTY

• New Forum Member
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2011, 07:37:45 PM »
Thanks.  Have ya'll ever used dowels on demand .com  I was looking and its pretty cool

Offline raalston

• New Forum Member
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2011, 09:05:41 PM »