Author Topic: Need some pointers on reed length vs. tone channel  (Read 3325 times)

Offline Aaron at Wingerts Woodworks

• Global Mentor & Moderator
  • New Forum Member
    • Wingert's Woodworks
Need some pointers on reed length vs. tone channel
« on: October 11, 2009, 04:44:41 PM »
Hey all,
I'm pretty new to making my own inserts and toneboards.  I've made some nice sounding calls but the more I blow them the more I'm thinking they lack the high end volume that I feel I need to have in a call.  What's worse is that when I put a lot of air most some of them the reed locks up.  I've played around with reed length as well as tone channel length but I'm honestly shooting in the dark.  If anyone could give me some pointers regarding the relationship between reed length and tone channel length I'd be really appreciative.  I'm honestly having a really hard time establishing any sort of consistency with my inserts (length, how far they go into the barrel, how deep to drill the tone channel, etc.)  and that is making the troubleshooting more difficult.  For what its worth, my cork is about 1/16" shorter than my insert cork notch.
I can post pics of the offending inserts if that helps.
Thanks,
Aaron

Offline jcz

• New Forum Member
  • You want some??
    • Trophygamecalls
Re: Need some pointers on reed length vs. tone channel
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2009, 06:47:49 PM »
Go ahead and put some pics up. You know how everyone like them anyway. I am in the same boat as you, I have done a few toneboards but nothing to write home about.
August Call Makers Throwdown Winner
http://www.trophygamecalls.embarqspace.com/

Offline Robert A.

• New Forum Member
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2009, 07:16:45 PM »