Author Topic: Toneboard wood  (Read 7032 times)

Offline the_benz

• New Forum Member
Toneboard wood
« on: May 06, 2008, 08:13:50 PM »
I am relatively new to game calls.  I am just curious of you opinions on whether you feel different woods for the toneboard impact the sound of the call?  If it has an impact and you are stiving to reproduce the same sound in your calls, why would you not always use the same wood for the toneboard?
Thanks for your opinions,
Gregg

Offline Waccamaw Calls

• New Forum Member
    • Waccamaw Calls  Do It All !!
Re: Toneboard wood
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2008, 08:20:47 PM »
ding ding .......... a winner
the denser the wood the better the sound
soft wood absorbs the sound, harder wood sends it out the exhaust and on to the ducks
Bill
friends don't let friends CNC ... IN GOD WE TRUST

Offline Al_at_THO Game Calls

• Owner, THO Game Calls Forums & Store
  • Administrator
  • New Forum Member
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2008, 11:25:04 PM »
I think you will find that a lot of call makers have a favorite wood for their tone boards, but can accomdate a customer if they need too.  But most will use one or two woods for their calls more often than not.  I see a lot of Ossage and Blackwood used.   

Al @ THO

Offline GN-1

• New Forum Member
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2008, 11:45:17 AM »
Like Bill said the denser woods will usually provide the best sound. A rule breaker for this would be cedar which has good tonal qualities even though it is fairly soft. The native woods that work well for toneboards would be osage, cedar, or locust. As far as exotics go cocobolo and blackwood are good choices. There are others that can produce a good sound, but these are your best bets when investing in toneboard wood. Shawn

Offline Curmudgeon

• New Forum Member
    • Tail Gunner Duck Calls
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2008, 01:45:25 PM »
What about Maple ?