Author Topic: Gluing Bands to Acrylic Barrels?  (Read 3669 times)

Offline MadTrapper

• New Forum Member
Gluing Bands to Acrylic Barrels?
« on: September 30, 2019, 03:48:59 PM »
First let me express my complete sadness at seeing what has become of what was once the greatest source of information for call makers; Tho's Board.  I learned a lot from this board over the many years that I've been visiting it.   Very sad to see it gets so little use anymore...

I've been turning a few wooden calls for many years.  I use 2 part epoxy and brass pins to fasten my bands.  I'm considering trying acrylic and am wondering about securing metal bands to it.  What should I be using/doing? 

Any insight or direction is very much appreciated.  Thank you.

"The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who have not got it". - George Bernard Shaw

ben

Re: Gluing Bands to Acrylic Barrels?
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2019, 07:43:45 PM »
I have not done a lot of acrylic calls but the ones that I did I made the call 3 ths. or larger than the ID of the band pressed them on and as far as I know never had a problem. You will have to ream the bore back to 5/8 as it will shrink a little.

That is basically the way the big guys do.

ben
« Last Edit: October 01, 2019, 05:05:32 PM by ben »

Offline MadTrapper

• New Forum Member
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2019, 08:25:09 PM »
Thank you Ben!  That's good information.
"The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who have not got it". - George Bernard Shaw

Offline BigB

• THO Game Calls Forum Manager
  • Administrator
  • New Forum Member
    • Byers Custom Calls THO gallery
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2019, 11:14:38 PM »