Author Topic: Run out  (Read 4359 times)

Offline Fat Lip calls

• New Forum Member
Run out
« on: November 26, 2016, 06:51:01 PM »
I have a little wobble with my PSI collet chuck & webfoot expandable mandrel I was :just wanting to know what you guys think is acceptable. It's not to bad but there is definitely a run out. First thing I notice was the chuck had sloppy threads when I put it on, also I had to get an 1-8tpi to go on my 3/4-10tpi .I can't spend the money to buy a dial indicator. Help!  if anyone has any info, I am just starting out and it's already putting a bad taste in my mouth.... thanks for any info  :stickman1:

Offline VECtor Calls

• Global Mentor & Moderator
  • New Forum Member
  • VECtor Custom Calls
    • VECtor Custom Calls
Re: Run out
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2016, 08:28:16 PM »
It is very important to follow the directions of the chuck step by step.  Here is the instruction sheet.  This is a common issue for someone new to using this chuck system.

https://www.pennstateind.com/library/LCDOWEL_ins.pdf
Pass on the tradition. A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle.

VECtor Custom Calls
Deer Grunt Calls Turkey Calls and Other Custom Game Calls

ben

« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2016, 08:36:09 PM »
Threads in the collet chuck are not that tight fitting anyway but it is important that it bottom out on the shoulder of the adapter that you screw on to mount the chuck on and if the shoulder is not square for the chuck to bottom on then you are going to get run out and the same is true to the adapter so check those as I doubt it is the chuck if the above instructions are followed posted by Vector.

you can take a pencil and lay it on your tool rest to see where the run out is at although you will not know how much.

ben

Offline Wade@WEBFoot

• New Forum Member
    • WEBFoot Custom Calls
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2016, 09:01:10 PM »