Author Topic: Help with pot call  (Read 3050 times)

Offline Scottmessenger

• New Forum Member
Help with pot call
« on: May 02, 2016, 09:07:55 PM »
Hey guys I'm new to making calls I've got a sore top call made out of curly maple. It sounds real hollow. Not sure what the problem is my sound board is exactly 1/8th inch below my scratch surface. The bottom of the scratch surface is just under 1/2 to the bottom of the inside of the call. Any input as to what I'm doing wrong would be greatly appreciated. I can email or text a video of how the call sounds now. You can message me for my phone number. Thanks guys

Offline VECtor Calls

• Global Mentor & Moderator
  • New Forum Member
  • VECtor Custom Calls
    • VECtor Custom Calls
Re: Help with pot call
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2016, 12:15:44 AM »
Hollow tends to mean too much material was taken out, holes are not configured well on the bottom (size or placement), or it may be something with your attachment point of your pedistal, or a far other option (usually a dead sound, not hollow) would be your sound board slipped while it was drying and the sound board is resting against the wall of the pot now.

It could also be a situation where your striker is too heavy, either in your stick or the head.

The short of it, it could be all kinds of stuff.
Pass on the tradition. A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle.

VECtor Custom Calls
Deer Grunt Calls Turkey Calls and Other Custom Game Calls

Offline Jeff @ Mutt Calls

• New Forum Member
  • MUTT Game Calls
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2016, 06:19:42 AM »
Scott, go down three thread post below this one and read "Really could use some help" by BradWest.

J
For it is in the Woods, Fields, & Marshes that Retrievers make thier own legends... and become our heroes!

muttcalls@gmail

Brad_23

« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2016, 11:15:41 AM »