Author Topic: Finishing calls  (Read 3572 times)

Offline Abe mccarty

• New Forum Member
Finishing calls
« on: April 05, 2016, 12:41:20 AM »
I have read so many post on finishing calls ( most more than once!). I am just starting out and have found spraying the calls is the easiest method for doing small batches. I know that poly won't hold up under harsh conditions but have also found that it is the quickest drying and also looks the best of what I have tried. The spray spars that say dry to the touch in 2 hours have taken multiple days to become non-tacky on domestics while a cheap minwax poly dries in 2 hrs. Not sure if there are any recommendations. On the same note I have turned some exotics (wenge, rosewood, teak.) I have applied 2 coats of wax free shellac sanding sealer and than plan on using a poly. I figure you are only as good as your first coat so   there is no point in using a spar over the shellac since the shellac isn't meant for harsh elements anyways. But I'm not sure if glue (e6000, or the likes) will stuck to the shellac of if I have bare wood if it will stick to the oily wood. There are so many questions and so many answers I feel like I'm losing my mind (my wife is starting to think I am!). Thanks for any help!

Offline Mann Lock @ Hollow Wing Calls

• New Forum Member
Re: Finishing calls
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2016, 09:40:16 AM »
Nothing beats Oil Finishes on pot calls in my opinion.

You dont want a shiny something in the woods when turkey calling and most will not hold up to anything like bug spray unless its CA.

Just a good oil soak, pick your poison, Tung, Danish, Velvet, even Tru Oil....   If you are looking for a hunting call, I would stay away from anything that is sprayed on.

Just my  :2:

Offline Abe mccarty

• New Forum Member
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2016, 10:35:45 AM »