Author Topic: Deep sound in goose call  (Read 5364 times)

Offline kingdom calls

• New Forum Member
Deep sound in goose call
« on: September 23, 2015, 03:42:29 PM »
Guys,
hoping for a little direction here.  I have been making calls for 5-6 years but have never really been able to get a deep sounding goose call.  I use shell creek goose guts, and I like them but I want to get the call deeper.  I have talked with a couple of different people and couple questions that I have.

1.  Do you feel that the dimensions of the call (barrel/exhaust) make a "significant" impact on the call sound (specifically deeper or sharper) ?   (PS:  I know material does/lets just default to acrylic call)
2.  Do you have preference on a set of guts that you think are deeper/lower ranges...a little more buzz?
3.  Do you feel that shaving the reed does all the above?

Any suggestions would be helpful...have a great day guys!!

Offline Moonpiecalls

• New Forum Member
Re: Deep sound in goose call
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2015, 11:26:04 AM »
This is a hard question to answer really without hearing the call being blown.  I find with most goose calls you can almost always get a good deep low end out of it using the right air and voice inflection.  I know with my calls the shorter barrel/insert call that I make is a bit louder and higher pitch then the longer call I make.  I can still get a deep pitch out of both with the right air being pushed thru however.  Be tough to help without seeing pictures of how your guts are set up and maybe hearing a sound file.

Offline Joe Short

• New Forum Member
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2015, 02:18:41 PM »
Shaving the bottom of the reed makes them sound deeper.
"We have a lot of great call makers in NC. Maybe more call makers than ducks." - JCZ

BLKDOGS

« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2015, 07:09:50 AM »
Here are my suggestions, yes material will make a difference in sound and tone. you already stated that.