Author Topic: A few barrels  (Read 7726 times)

Offline tripod58

• New Forum Member
A few barrels
« on: January 23, 2009, 11:03:47 PM »
I am just getting started, I tried making my own mandrels, but I think I messed something up, thay hold great but I think they are a little off, the sides where the barrel is bored is off ( one side is thinner than the other) I guess that is the best way to describe it, although these wont see a lanyard i'll post the pictures anyway

Please don't tell Obama what comes after a trillion!!!!!

Offline Braz

• THO Game Calls Asst Forum Manager
  • Administrator
  • New Forum Member
    • Calls by Braz
Re: A few barrels
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2009, 11:39:36 PM »
Nice looking shape on those barrels. I would like to see some pictures of the ends of those calls to see what you kind of problem you are experiencing.
Braz
"Suppose you were an idiot. And suppose you were a member of Congress.. But I repeat myself."--Mark Twain

“Witnessing the Republicans and the Democrats bicker over the U.S. debt is like watching two drunks argue over a bar bill on the Titanic.”

Offline John_NY

• New Forum Member
  • I carry a gun cause a cop is too heavy
    • J.B. Calls
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2009, 11:39:54 PM »
A couple of the calls look like they are leaning. Are you marking the end of the blocks for center before drilling and is it coming out the other end centered?  Are you turning on a stubby mandrel or are you using a longer one with the tailstock?

John
Don't pick a fight with an old man. If he is too old to fight, he'll just kill you.

JB Custom Calls

Offline daren99

• New Forum Member
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2009, 11:53:23 PM »
I like the shapes. I had the same problem when I was using a wood mandrel, I assume I was pushing to hard. I got my pin lock from builderone on here and don't have that problem any more. :bigup:
Daren

Offline tripod58

• New Forum Member
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2009, 01:10:05 AM »