Author Topic: Sound boards, thickness, and material  (Read 2792 times)

Wsims

Sound boards, thickness, and material
« on: June 17, 2015, 09:20:49 PM »
Sorry I am a complete newbie when it comes to game calls though I do turn bowls and pens,

First my understanding of how a pot call works, when the striker rubs across the slate,glass,copper whatever surface at the right angle it chatters the sound is transmitted down and hits the soundboard and creates harmonics that is allowed to pass through the holes in the bottom of the pot,

I understand that their are a lot of variables that will effect the sound the thickness and hardness of the stricker, the type of surface used for the strike plate and the same goes for the sound board and the pot its self

I saw a few mentions of using wood as sound boards but nothing about how thick it should be, can anyone tell me?
Also, does the soundboard just act as a reflecting surface to bounce the waves back up or does it also vibrate creating its own resonance pattern?
Kind of sounds like a stupid question I know but I ask because if the soundboard acts as a reflector then shaping the top of the soundboard will have a dramatic effect
I was just wondering if anyone has played with this to see what would happen?

Offline Double00 Game Calls

• New Forum Member
Re: Sound boards, thickness, and material
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2015, 09:53:43 PM »
Good question. As a newbie as well I'm interested in seeing some responses.
Double 00 game calls....bring em in for a pit stop!

Offline Prairie Game Calls

• Global Mentor & Moderator
  • New Forum Member
    • Prairie Calls
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2015, 06:43:27 AM »