Author Topic: First full wood call and sanding/finishing question  (Read 2153 times)

Offline Moonpiecalls

• New Forum Member
First full wood call and sanding/finishing question
« on: November 19, 2014, 08:07:03 AM »
This was my first full wooden call (minus the gutsert) sorry its not the greatest picture.  It is Zebrawood finished with CA.  I am still learning and trying new things every week and once again will take all criticism as constructive (why I keep posting).  My one question is about sanding.  I sand to 1000 grit and finish with CA. When sanding wood, should you get to a point where there is basically no voids and its all completely smooth?  I found with the zebrawood that there were little tiny voids in it that would fill with dust.  Before I finished with ca I just tried to brush it all out then finish.  I found the CA covers them up like they werent even there and to me it looks good.  Is this normal or should there be no tiny voids after sanding and before finishing wood?  Basically wondering if I need to be sanding more.  Probably not really wording that the best but hopwfully someone knows what I mean haha.  Thanks!

Offline Henry H

• New Forum Member
    • HH Reelfoot Call Journal
Re: First full wood call and sanding/finishing question
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2014, 08:49:09 AM »