Author Topic: CNC type needed to make calls  (Read 6439 times)

Offline Butch1

  • Custom Call Maker
  • ****
  • Posts: 23
Re: CNC type needed to make calls
« Reply #15 on: July 31, 2014, 03:26:13 PM »
I run a borrowed rotophase a friend had it but nowdays  a variable frequency drive is available for $250 that turns 1ph to 3ph, price increases with hp of motor my mill is 2hp. On some retrofits i have seen guys with a bad gearbox or variators connect the motor to the spindle with a cog belt directly and use the freq drive for variable speed i think mach3 can control that also but not sure.Keep this in mind if any cheap 3ph equipment comes available wood lathes tablesaws etc. As far as production time i'm not sure, the mill is in the back garage the 2 tabletop lathes are in the basement, every thing is manual no bar feeders but i can put a blank on one lathe start it and put a blank on the second lathe and run it and alternate between them. The mill has a quick change taper in the spindle so i could write a program to mill the toneboard radius with a pause toolchange and different fixture offset and peckdrill cycle and be able to cut the toneboard and drill the next tone channel then alternate in the  fixtures,I would still need to be present.Installing bands still has to be done and polishing,I haven't let my 13 yr old run the mill in auto yet but on the lathe his barrels look the same as mine so Marvin I don't really know because I haven't tried to streamline the procedures yet, it's quicker but not sure how much.I have some videos on youtube they are under dave123_shooting my name is Dave by the way or you can find one under cnc duck call then see  my other video. Yeah I can retrofit a mill but not know how to hyperlink :down1: I did save a video to photobucket but not sure if it can be uploaded. looks like a link can be here are some vids if they work going to go now. herehttp://s1377.photobucket.com/user/dsiebel/media/029_zps7eb6a44e.mp4.html?sort=3&o=0http://s1377.photobucket.com/user/dsiebel/media/VID_20140318_124506_zps4554638e.mp4.html?sort=3&o=0http://s1377.photobucket.com/user/dsiebel/media/034_zps0e325cd6.mp4.html?sort=3&o=1http://s1377.photobucket.com/user/dsiebel/media/VID_20140112_163704_zps99e5d9da.mp4.html?sort=3&o=5

Offline Butch1

  • Custom Call Maker
  • ****
  • Posts: 23
Re: CNC type needed to make calls
« Reply #16 on: July 31, 2014, 03:34:32 PM »
Guess they didn't work after all, I went to a  auto tech school in in Witchita out by boeing a local guy i went there with his mom was a tool and die maker at beachcraft.

Offline Wade@WEBFoot

  • THO Recommended Advertiser
  • Custom Call Maker
  • *
  • Posts: 569
  • Location: Wiggins, CO
    • WEBFoot Custom Calls
Re: CNC type needed to make calls
« Reply #17 on: August 01, 2014, 11:21:58 AM »
Fixed the links for ya Butch
Looks like you just needed some spaces between for the forum software to hyperlink em for ya.  Hey, look... I cant build a CNC, but I can hyper link...  :hysterical:

http://s1377.photobucket.com/user/dsiebel/media/029_zps7eb6a44e.mp4.html?sort=3&o=0

http://s1377.photobucket.com/user/dsiebel/media/VID_20140318_124506_zps4554638e.mp4.html?sort=3&o=0

http://s1377.photobucket.com/user/dsiebel/media/034_zps0e325cd6.mp4.html?sort=3&o=1

http://s1377.photobucket.com/user/dsiebel/media/VID_20140112_163704_zps99e5d9da.mp4.html?sort=3&o=5

Question and comment for ya..

What kind of end mill are you running on the milling video?  Kind of looks like a RH cut LH spiral by the way the chips are coming out but hard to say.  Just curious there.  I rough the main part of the material with a 1/2 carbide, and then go to a 1/8" carbide with a couple spring passes to try and reduce cutter flex as much as possible.  And was curious what kind of cutter flex you were seeing with the bit youre using.


In the milling vid, that looks like a drill chuck holding the end mill... you might think about getting an actual end mill holder for that.  I think yould see an increase in accuracy and less opportunity for a potential catastrophe.  An ER16 collet chuck would be a great setup for that.

Wade
www.webfootcustomcalls.com
Call Making Tools, Parts, Services... and calls when I have time :D

Offline Butch1

  • Custom Call Maker
  • ****
  • Posts: 23
Re: CNC type needed to make calls
« Reply #18 on: August 02, 2014, 06:24:03 PM »
Thanks Wade, yeah you caught me it's not a endmill. This video I made as soon as the mill was done it's a rotozip bit from a home center, they do flex alot. Msc a tool supplier we use at caterpillar has 1/8 inch carbide mills.The spindle is a nmbt40 taper, I have 4 nmbt40 tg100 collet holders and a jacobs chuck I found and bought a dozen collets ranging in size 3/8 to 1 inch on ebay for  35 bucks and have seen a few long mill holders in 1/8 size. I need a long holder to clear my jig that i made also. My plan is to make a bracket so I can install a small variable speed router or a small liquid cooled spindle to the quill so I don't have to run the mill spindle maxed out at 4000 which is still slow for that size endmill and acrylic. the toolpath cycle in the second and third pass is the same it doesnt seem to remove much stock on the last cut.  I have taken reeds from one insert and installed them in another insert without changing them and they sound very very close. This is a work in progress so any input anybody has would be taken.

Offline Wade@WEBFoot

  • THO Recommended Advertiser
  • Custom Call Maker
  • *
  • Posts: 569
  • Location: Wiggins, CO
    • WEBFoot Custom Calls
Re: CNC type needed to make calls
« Reply #19 on: August 04, 2014, 09:58:41 PM »
Ah... makes sense.  I thought about trying some RH cut, LF spiral carbide endmills, but never got around to it.  THought they might "induce" coolant into the cut from the nozzle.  But yeah, the flex from HSS in that small diameter gets kinda unruly... then add speed, and the chatter gets a little obnoxious.

But if it works, it works eh? :D

Wade

www.webfootcustomcalls.com
Call Making Tools, Parts, Services... and calls when I have time :D

Offline Butch1

  • Custom Call Maker
  • ****
  • Posts: 23
Re: CNC type needed to make calls
« Reply #20 on: August 04, 2014, 10:47:10 PM »
found a import 40 taper by er16 collet .00002 total runout i think will work great  thanks for the heads up.

Offline Butch1

  • Custom Call Maker
  • ****
  • Posts: 23
Re: CNC type needed to make calls
« Reply #21 on: August 04, 2014, 10:50:56 PM »
.0002 tir