Author Topic: Hardness vs. Density  (Read 10338 times)

Offline clintfaas

• New Forum Member
Hardness vs. Density
« on: March 04, 2014, 03:57:17 PM »
First off I wanted to thank you all for the outstanding info! I've been lurking for a while and have found more good stuff here than I could have imagined!  This is my first post to the site and to say I'm a beginner at call making (or wood turning) would be an understatement. 

Ive searched for this but haven't really found what I'm looking for.  From what I've gathered there are several key woods that people use that are tried and true for call. So really no need to reinvent the wheel.  However, in comparing wood to things like Bocote, Cocobola, Osage Orange and ABW, there is A LOT of great looking wood that shares similar physical properties.  Originally I was under the impression that hardness was the most important thing but the more I read it seems like density has a greater affect on sound.  Can someone clarify this for me?  If I want to look at trying other woods what would be the better comparison?
"Nature is an open book for those who care to read. Each grass-covered hillside is a page on which is written the history of the past, conditions of the present and the predictions for the future." -- J. E. Weaver

Offline Chris @ STW Outdoors

• New Forum Member
Re: Hardness vs. Density
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2014, 04:42:25 PM »
Wood density is what you are wanting. I have attached a list of woods and their densities. I have been meaning to post this for everyone and I guess this is a good as a place as any. I got this from a website that someone else directed us to and just put it in an excel format for easier viewing, but I can not upload that. So, I put it into word. I placed the wood in order of density. It is rated at pounds per cubic foot. This should help you as you determine what woods to use.