Author Topic: A little something different for a grunt call  (Read 7366 times)

Offline Ty Colvin

• New Forum Member
    • TC Woodshop
A little something different for a grunt call
« on: December 04, 2013, 10:51:49 AM »
So, I've been turning deer calls for a couple months now, and 2 days ago, I hit my whit's end with o-ring fittings. That coupled with the question of it's durability taking the call apart over and over with every adjustment made by the owner of the call led me to try something new. I've seen a post or two mention using threaded tenons but haven't seen anyone actually follow through.

I was extremely pleased with the outcome! Let me know what you guys think!!

Offline Lon @ First Flight Game Calls

• New Forum Member
  • love that quack whackin'
Re: A little something different for a grunt call
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2013, 10:55:08 AM »
Looks great. Way to think outside the box.  Any problems expected? Maybe add a rubber washer so it can be tightened without stressing the wood much? Tough to do? Just thinking out loud.

Lon

Government can't solve the problem...Government is the problem. Reagan

Good work ain't cheap and cheap work ain't good!

Offline Ty Colvin

• New Forum Member
    • TC Woodshop
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2013, 11:15:21 AM »
Looks great. Way to think outside the box.  Any problems expected? Maybe add a rubber washer so it can be tightened without stressing the wood much? Tough to do? Just thinking out loud.

Lon

Thanks Lon! I've contemplated countless ways of doing this differently, you've got me doodling again  :stickman1:

Offline VECtor Calls

• Global Mentor & Moderator
  • New Forum Member
  • VECtor Custom Calls
    • VECtor Custom Calls
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2013, 12:27:23 PM »
What are your o-ring problems?  Getting them to give you a good fit?

If that is the case, I've fixed the problem by buying up about every o-ring size out there that's in the area of being right.  It makes a world of difference.