Author Topic: 5/8 drill bit and a tapered madrel based in the uk  (Read 2644 times)

Offline M kirk

• New Forum Member
5/8 drill bit and a tapered madrel based in the uk
« on: September 07, 2013, 01:55:29 PM »
Hi All,

I am a duck hunter based in the U.K, Although a small place we do have some excellent hunting. I am just getting into buildinhg duck calls. I have ordered some inserts from echo calls however, I am using a UK 5/8 drill bit which to be honest seems like it is slightly bigger as the call doesnt bite until the last 1mm of the taper which is probably too Far ? is there another size to use maybe 15.5 mm instead of a UK 5/8? Or is it correct that it will only bite past the "cork slot " to the bell of the insert?

Also i am using a pin chuck in a jawed chuck instead of a collett.

I like the look of these taperred mandrels but cannot find any for sale over here in sunny old England.

Hope someone is able to shed some light on the problems i am having !!

Thanks
Matt

Offline Brian at DDT Game Calls

• New Forum Member
Re: 5/8 drill bit and a tapered madrel based in the uk
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2013, 02:08:55 PM »
Can you not order one off the internet? say ebay? I would think 5/8 is 5/8 everywhere, what kind of bit is it? if it is a spade/paddle bit don't use it cause it will be bigger

Offline Aaron at Wingerts Woodworks

• Global Mentor & Moderator
  • New Forum Member
    • Wingert's Woodworks
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2013, 02:35:22 PM »