Author Topic: New Pen Turner Question  (Read 7425 times)

Offline Stoner

• New Forum Member
New Pen Turner Question
« on: October 28, 2008, 05:27:22 PM »
I am new to pen turning and had a few questions before I place my first order for a few pen kits. What are trimming sleeves? I notice in the Penn State catalog that there were trimming sleeves on some of their pen kits and not others. Do trimming sleeves normally come with the pen kit? I know you have to buy the bushing for each pen kit but did not know if you had to purchase trimming sleeves as well. Another question, if you are using a mandrel that is 7mm in diameter and you are turning a pen with a 10mm tube is there a tube or bushing to take up that space so the tube is centered on mandrel? Thanks.

Offline Al_at_THO Game Calls

• Owner, THO Game Calls Forums & Store
  • Administrator
  • New Forum Member
Re: New Pen Turner Question
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2008, 05:41:20 PM »
Welcome to the site!   First, I can't answer the first part of your question, but I know one of these guys will be along to help you out.

The second part though I might have a clue on.  I know there are 10mm mandrals out there because I have a couple of them.  I think these might be for the pens with the 10mm tubes, but hey, you might be able to get a busing I dont know.  Again, one of our resident expert pen turners will be along to help in no time at all

AL @ THO

Offline nebo

• New Forum Member
  • Blow's just an expression
    • http://www.myspace.com/nebogamecalls
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2008, 05:50:44 PM »
Welcome, and you have come to the right place.

Hammer I think someone is calling your name!!!!!!!!1 ;D ;D ;D

Neel

Offline justannie

• New Forum Member
    • BKC Turkey Calls
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2008, 06:36:52 PM »
First of all, Hammer is the resident pen expert ;)

But my two cents....