Author Topic: New To Turning Grunt Calls  (Read 9190 times)

bhecho

New To Turning Grunt Calls
« on: January 29, 2012, 08:08:32 PM »
I am new to turning calls and want to focus on grunt calls to start with.  I have ordered a bunch of equipment including a JET 1014 VS with bed extension, starter tools as recommended by other folks on this site, several finishing materials, drill chuck, call guts from AL and i have already read the book on call making, very informative.  My question is, what type of mandrel do most of you utilize to turn deer grunt calls.  I was looking at the expandable mandrel from WebFoot in both 5/8" and 3/4".  Is this what most of you use for turning deer grunt calls or would i be better off with a pin lock mandrel?  What about if you are turning a stopper with a 1/2" hole which mandrel do you use?  I appreciate any and all help you could provide.  I would also be utilizing these mandrels for duck and goose calls in the near future.

Brad

BLKDOGS

Re: New To Turning Grunt Calls
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2012, 08:47:25 PM »
Brad welcome   You will find lots of help from these guys one here and I will try my best to give you some.

I am sure the expandable mandrels from WEBfoot are top notch just like his goose call guts.  Lot of guys use the set from Flinthill duck works but his site is shutdown for some personal issues.   i do beleve you will need a 1/2 in on also for grunt calls. I know I do. so if you can get all 3 sizes you will be ready to turn most any type of call. I use a set i made but it is really time to update. here is a couple of picture of what i use.  good luck. Have Fun and STAY safe!!!

What one of my mandrel looks like

I eboxied a nut in the wood to attache to my head stock

Offline VECtor Calls

• Global Mentor & Moderator
  • New Forum Member
  • VECtor Custom Calls
    • VECtor Custom Calls
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2012, 10:16:20 PM »